This collection of websites host open access content which has passed out of copyright. Browse through the online libraries to find a treasure trove of historical sources, including ancient materials and original documents. Henriette's Herbal, The Medical Heritage Library and the Wellcome Collection.
The Medical Heritage Library (MHL), is a digital collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries, it promotes free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine. This includes a collection of digitized medical rare books, pamphlets, journals, and films number in the tens of thousands, with representative works from each of the past six centuries, all of which are available here through the Internet Archive.
Wellcome Collection is made up of thousands of items from our collections which have been digitised, and copies are freely accessible online. Our digital collections cover a wide variety of topics, and are particularly strong in the areas of mental health, sex and sexual health, genetics, public health, and 19th-century books.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
Catalog of The Alternative Medical Therapies Library, you can search by author or book title.
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 70,000 free eBooks. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
